Road to Death

 

road

Snaky skin on my back

Consistent is the heat of the sun

Burning inside out

Walking down a scorching,

Forgotten Road

Sweat rolling down my scaly skin

Visions rise before my steamy eyes

Oasis, rain, and a clear blue stream

But, I know it is only a dream

Riding down life’s highway

As death’s seemingly only passenger

Indians dancing, butterflies overhead

Eagles’ wings spread gracefully

Whether spirit, body, or illusion

I am mystified, entranced to follow

Sounds of a violin gently being played

Like a choir of angels calling me

Echoing in my hollow mind

Breathing seems to be getting harder

My lungs feel like their flaming

But, I must push myself to go on

Soon, I find myself at the end of the road

My feet at the edge of a cliff

I hear voices of every creature around

Urging me to go on

I raise my head, take a breath

Take a step forward, and fall to my death

How sweet it is that the pain is over

One thought on “Road to Death

  1. I love! Yes, love this poem. I personally felt like a fly on the wall so-to-speak. Probably more like a vulture or hawk in the air noticing someone curiously, while going about my flying. All along this person is going through all of this, waiting and hastening sweet death.

    Like

Leave a Reply

